top of page

Final Reflection

After spending four weeks in Spain, I’ve realized I’ve changed as a person in several ways. I have a better appreciation for Spanish history, culture, and art. I’ve become more independent, improved my Spanish, and made many friends. Most importantly, I’ve been very happy and relaxed. I’ll go through each and every way I’ve changed and how this experience will impact me in the future.


Independence

Before embarking on this trip, I had never spent more than a week without seeing my parents. For my freshman year in college, I decided to live at home to save money. This means I would typically interact with my family every day, even just for meals.


Living without my family on a different continent certainly seemed like a challenge, but I managed to figure it out. I mastered the metro, conquered the buses, and dominated the streets with my prime navigation apps: Google Maps, Moovit, and Renfe.


I am an only child, so living with a roommate was another hurdle I had to go through. My roommate was usually in bed, trying to stay awake or go to sleep, and was mostly quiet, except for at night when he performed “snorquestras”. I didn’t like having to share a bedroom and a bathroom, and I realized I can handle a roommate in the short term, but I’ll never have another roommate again if I can avoid it.


History, culture, art

The best part of this class was that it was outside of the classroom. I noticed that going to places like the Royal Palace in Segovia or Plaza España is a lot more enjoyable and interesting than reading about them in a book or looking at pictures of them. I was able to form a personal connection with and make memories of these places that I will never forget. My favorite place was Plaza España in Sevilla. I stood there just glued to the spot looking at the view for at least five minutes straight. I was able to hike in the Guadarrama and Segovia mountains and experience the real Spanish countryside. 


I also really liked the museums because they offer a unique perspective into the past. Asking myself why things have changed, how important they were in the past, and how they’ve changed over time makes me think about how I would have lived at a different time, at a different place, or in a different society. This class is not a mind-free vacation, rather it forces the mind to think about Spanish history, culture, and art in ways that a classroom course simply couldn’t replicate.


I understand some of the intricacies of Spanish culture, particularly the differences between Analucía (eg. Sevilla) and Castilla (eg. Madrid). For Madrid, I understand the importance gardens and public parks have had throughout history and its influence on the modern perception of culture, as well as the impact the royal family has had directly and indirectly like the commissioned art by Goya and Velázquez, the establishment of the metro, and the many impressive buildings like the Royal Palace in Madrid. Regarding Sevilla, I know the influence the moors had on Andalucían architecture, especially with their centralized square patios and multicolor geometric patterns that they decorate the walls and floors with. I also realized the importance of religion in Sevilla in daily life from pictures of saints decorating the interior of buildings, to religious names of streets and restaurants, and the many religious organizations, not to mention the cathedral of Sevilla.


I discovered several social differences, like eating very late in the day, less personal space, and that people often spend their free time outside. Looking back, I slowly adjusted to this new normal, and now I live a little more like a Spaniard.


I also wasn’t afraid to try some new food. As I found out in Sevilla, new food doesn’t always taste good. But, I did try such foods as fried rabbit in Chinatown, bull-tail croquetas in Sevilla, and Salmorejo (a cold tomato soup). Ultimately, I’ve discovered an appetite for Napolitanas, Jamón Ibérico, and croquetas which I wish I could have once I return to the US.


I’ve also improved my appreciation for art. I know about the life and works of the greatest Spanish painter of the 18th and early 19th centuries, Francisco de Goya. I learned about the importance of Diego Velázquez to Sevilla and to the royal family at the time. I now know how to recognize El Greco’s paintings with their signature elongated bodies and understand El Greco’s importance to the church and to Toledo. Lastly, I am aware of the questionable methods and scandalous activities of the infamous painter Caravaggio.


Language

When I came to Spain, I was already listening to the Spanish news at least once a week and I could read Spanish pretty well. I quickly realized my spoken Spanish was not the greatest, but I still understood most conversations if people spoke to me slowly and without a strong accent. After being in Spain, I’ve been able to pronounce the Spanish “s”, “j”, and “rr” more easily when beforehand I struggled to pronounce these sounds. I also found myself sometimes thinking in Spanish rather than English.


Social aspects

After graduating from West High in Iowa City, I went to the University of Iowa with several people from my graduating class. Pretty much all of my friends at the university are people that I knew from West High. I realized people were not very social at the university, but I think this is because no one had a need to socialize with me. In Spain, the phrase that best described the social dynamics was “We’re all in this together”. Being able to talk and spend time with other people from Iowa made me feel a sense of home in Spain which I don’t think I would have found if I had gone alone. I also feel like I’ve made some friends. I am closer to some people than others, but I want to meet up with everyone else again in the future.


Happiness

This is the happiest I’ve been in a long time. When I traveled to Spain, I anticipated I would feel homesick or miss my parents too much, but instead, I felt a sense of home away from home in Spain that made me feel comfortable and relaxed. I’ve felt much more energetic, excited, and alive than I've ever felt in Iowa.


Future

This is not the end. This is just the beginning. The more time I spend in Spain, the more I feel that I need to come back in the future. To be honest, I don’t think I’ll ever live in Spain since my family and my home are in Iowa. But, I would like to go back to Madrid in the future and explore other areas of Spain that I haven’t gone to, like the Basque country. 


I highly recommend this program for anyone interested in Spanish history, culture, or art (and people who don’t mind a lot of walking, snoring, and the occasional cheek-pinching). Ultimately, study abroad is what you make of it. I’ve made friends, I’ve made memories, I’ve learned, and I’ve truly lived. I end this blog by repeating a motto that reflects my experiences well. The national motto of Spain: ¡Plus Ultra!


Recent Posts

See All

Entry 8

Saturday, June 8th Today, I went to Aranjuez. The area around the train station was very run down with graffiti and dilapidated...

Comments


bottom of page